English
Groupes & séminaires Book online
CHATEAU MAURIAC langon(1)
hotel lion d'or (2)(1)
gare de langon
CHATEAU MAURIAC langon(1)
hotel lion d'or (2)(1)
gare de langon

Heritage Days – Guided tour around Langon railway station to Langon

Le 20/09/2026

Languages spoken

French

This walk will explore four topics inextricably linked to the opening of the Bordeaux–Langon railway line on 31 May 1855, which was extended to Sète in 1857:


– Château Mauriac, known as Château Génitrix, was built in 1865 by Jacques Mauriac, François’s grandfather.

– The Langon murder. On 6 February 1907, an insurance agent from La Réole arrived on the 1.30 pm train. He made his way to the Café Hôtel de la Gare, run by shady proprietors with a long criminal record. The insurance agent was found eight months later floating in the River Garonne. Against a backdrop of theft, a crime of cruelty.

– The Oliver family, or the excellence of 20th-century French gastronomy.

– The tobacco warehouses.


Booking essential


Dates

  • Le 20/09/202610:00

Price list
2026

  • Free